A Daily news digest by Jasper van Santen

A Shameful Obituary in Slate. Author and Publisher should be ashamed

In News on February 29, 2012 at 17:02

1330380170173

Jan Berenstain, co-creator of The Berenstain Bears, is dead. Good riddance to her books.

Hanna Rosin’s apology could not be more pathetic.  I suspect she’s probably a heartless bitch of a woman.

UPDATE, Feb. 28, 2012: I have been roundly (and deservedly) chastised in e-mails and elsewhere by Slate readers for my use of “good riddance” in connection with this kind woman’s death. I admit, I was not really thinking of her as a person with actual feelings and a family, just an abstraction who happened to write these books. Apologies. Next time I will be more humane. –Hanna

Leave a Reply

